The Car :(

     We finally had a minute to go and see the car!  When Michael rolled the car it trapped his hand between the road and the roof of the car and if that hadn’t happened, he would have walked away from the accident relatively unharmed.  The police and everyone agree that a car like a Cadillac can withstand a real beating and come out strong.  I guess there’s enough steel in place that even in a roll-over it doesn’t crush it.

Pretty Crunched

As ruined as the body of the car was, the passenger compartment was in fairly good shape.

No back window

       This was a 1994 Cadillac STS.  It had over 350,000 miles on it and it was named ‘the kids car’.  I loved the fact that we were really getting our money’s worth out of this car, but I secretly always wondered if a car that old and used could still deploy the air bags and be safe.  I really didn’t want to know this badly, though!  The air bags worked like a dream and they probably saved his life.

Geting Our Stuff

     The car was a wreck and needed to be thrown away immediately, but of course you think well I should get my stuff.  The ambulance people cut Michael’s coat off of him so as not to damage his hand any further.  He thought they threw the coat back in the car.  I didn’t think we’d see it again, but there it was and there in the pocket…..his Ipod.  Happy Day.  What a fun little blessing. Getting it back was like seeing an old friend again.

   God was good to him and our family.  How grateful we all are to have him in such good shape, considering what all could have happened.  We are praying for his complete recovery and that he’ll have full and complete use of his hand and that he’ll learn whatever life lessons he is meant to learn from this.

     I can’t believe some of the lessons I’m learning from this situation.

     I wrecked my Mom’s car when I was 17 and its only now that I appreciate how good she was to me.  She showed me only kindness and concern.  She never made me feel bad about the car, which, by the way was a really sweet car!  I also look back and wonder how did she cope with every crazy thing we threw at her as teenagers, all by herself.  I’m so grateful I have a strong man to lean on who handles everything with strength an wisdom.  Someone I know I can count on to be there for us, whether its being strong during the surgeries, or being strong and handling the details of a wrecked car.  I’m very grateful and I’m very impressed with my Mom who had to do it on her own.

About Sue Thomson

I am the wife to an amazing Man, a home school Mom of 9 children. I am a business woman who believes in 'never give up'. I appreciate accomplishment. I love beauty, and most of all I am grateful to God for my Life. Words are tools, created to love and edify. When your conversation is full of encouragement, it's like giving someone a gift and compliments are like the 'Ribbon on Top' of that gift. I will share some of my life with you and hope to add value to your life.
This entry was posted in Lots of Kids, Main Menu. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Car :(

  1. Watching From a Distance says:

    When I see the car I am flooded with emotion and personal reflection. Its amazing how events like this can teach life lessons, not only to the one behind the wheel, but to all of us watching from a distance.

Leave a Reply

