London, England

Phone Box, Must be London

             A friend for suggested we take advantage of the Hop on/Hop off bus tours in Europe.  We went to London, England first to see as much as we could see.  We were unashamedly tourists.  I definitely had my list…Big Ben, Buckingham Palace, Picadilly Circus, Harrod’s, Westminster Abbey, St. Paul’s Cathedral, the Thames River, Tower Bridge and Tower of London.  David’s list was…The London Eye!

     We learned quickly that in a large metropolitan city anywhere in Europe, you just can’t get everywhere you’d like to go in a really short period of time.  When we arrived at Paddington Station, on the train from the airport, all of London was in a turmoil because the Tube was on strike.  Apparently everyone knew ahead of time that this was going to happen so the streets were over crowded with traffic and the cabs were all booked for hours ahead of time.  It was an adventure for us just to get from Paddington Station to our hotel.  We tried city buses, but it turns out that most of the people in the transportation industry, in England, don’t speak English…at least not with an accent we could understand.  Somehow we went in the opposite direction and ended up having a lovely shopgirl set us up with a cab afterall.

The Queens Park Hotel

     This was our pretty little, quaint hotel, right across the street from Hyde park.  We could walk right to the bus and take all kinds of fun pictures from the top of the double decker of beautiful places all over town.

Pretty Buildings, London

     We hopped off and on many times.  Everything was so pretty.  The architecture and the gardens were absolutely beautiful.

Picadilly Circus

Of course we needed a picture in front of this famous momument.  Its called Anteros, The Angle of Christian Charity.  This is right in the middle of all the action, which is right where I like to be.

This is like the Times Square of London; All the signs are neon and at night its just fantastic.

Big Ben and The Parliament Buildings

     We saw Big Ben from all different angles and my camera just couldn’t capture the timeless magnificence or the staggering height.  You can look it up anywhere on the internet and see it better but I just had to take several photos for my own memories of having actually been there.

The Actual Gates to Buckingham Palace

This was my dream. I’ve had a keen interest in the Royal family all my life. When my Mom would tell me to use certain manners, I always clarified as to whether the Queen would use those particular manners and that told me when something was really proper. If the Queen would do it a certain  way, then that was the final answer.

We got up early, bought our Starbucks, and hiked across the park to Buckingham Palace to see the changing of the guards.

The Changing of the Guard

There were huge crowds that day so David insisted I climb onto his shoulders to get a good view.  I was laughing so hard.  I kept saying don’t be silly, we can’t do that, but he insisted.  His problem was not that he wasn’t plenty strong enough to hold me; it was juggling his Starbucks while balancing me, who’s trying not to fall off of his shoulders from laughing, while juggling my own Starbucks and purse and trying to get good camera shots.  He kept me up there almost the whole time.  He knew it was my dream to really see and experience the whole thing.  I loved every moment.  What a man!

Tourist!

I had to do it. When the 2 guards walked by I had to beg for a photo. They didn’t say a word, of course, but they politely stood there and allowed me my moment.  I wanted a picture so badly, I didn’t even try to be cool and nonchalant. What a tourist.

Harrods

Harrods.  I’ve read so much about Harrods, I just had to see it.  What a beautiful department store.

There were memorials all over the store to Diana and Dodi.  What a sad, sad situation.  It was kind of nice to sign the guest book.

David grabbed a quick shot of me riding up the escalator right in front of a golden statue of Diana and Dodi.

The London Eye

Its hard to imagine from this shot that in each one of the glass pods are several people riding around and seeing truly a bird’s eye view of the city.  You buy a ticket for one revolution and they call it a flight.  As you’re  coming around, up to the highest point, thats when you believe that it really is a flight.

Big Ben from 'The Eye'

His wish was granted.  We took the ‘flight’ and rode the Eye.  I was a tiny bit nervous at first, but it was so beautiful that it was worth every minute.

Finally up in The Eye

He’s the man, alright.  He made it all happen.

About Sue Thomson

I am the wife to an amazing Man, a home school Mom of 9 children. I am a business woman who believes in 'never give up'. I appreciate accomplishment. I love beauty, and most of all I am grateful to God for my Life. Words are tools, created to love and edify. When your conversation is full of encouragement, it's like giving someone a gift and compliments are like the 'Ribbon on Top' of that gift. I will share some of my life with you and hope to add value to your life.
This entry was posted in Main Menu, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to London, England

  1. branchenbuch says:

    Simply discovered your web page through google and I consider this can be a disgrace that you are not ranked higher due to the fact that that is a fantastic post. To switch this I determined to avoid wasting your web site to my RSS reader and I will try to point out you in one of my posts since you actually deserv extra readers when publishing content material of this quality.

  2. Carlyn Thomson says:

    I have one BEAUTIFUL mother-in-law! 🙂

Leave a Reply

