Roma..Cont’d…

     Our idea of how to really have fun in Rome…

Scooter Fun

     We rented this scooter and took off.  I started out scared to death…for 2 reasons.  1.  Everyone in Europe, on scooters drives like a maniac. 2.  My husband already drives like a manic, in a good way;) and I knew he was excited to get hold of one of these and show his stuff.  We took off like a rocket, with handlebar in one hand and a map in the other!

The Vatican was on my ‘must see’ list and out of respect for their customs, I bought a cheap polyester scarf so I could be appropriate.

Appropriate Scarf

     It gets very hot, with all the throngs of people, my cheap scarf became more and more smothering.

No Scarf

     I was starting to have a melt-down and I think by the end of the tour, my scarf was a cape and I looked like superman.

Ceiling Paintings

     The paintings…

Wall Paintings

     Paintings bigger than anything I’ve ever seen.

Ancient Tapestries

    The artwork in indescribeable, really.  There were rooms and rooms and statues, marble, tapestries, carvings and paintings.  Finally, arriving in the actual Sistine Chapel was a beautiful experience.  The signs said ‘you’re now entering a holy place’.  We were expected to show great respect with silence and no photography.  Everyone stood a gazed at the ceilings and walls in awe.  The murmurings of the crowd would start to get louder and louder and suddenly the Vatican guards would shush everyone in the echoing chambers and when they shushed you…you shushed!

Basilica Papale di San Pietro in Vaticano

Then there’s St. Peter’s Basilica.  You’ll never see anything more magnifiscent.  Vast, golden, marble beauty.

Preparing for Our Next Adventure

     One last check of the map and we were on our way to see the next amazing site on our list.  The streets are so curvy and they change names constantly. It seemed like we drove in circles and then all of a sudden we came upon the Spanish Steps.  How fun to be in the midst of such history and culture.  The shops and cafes were very chic and it was so lovely to sit and enjoy a moment in the sun.

The Spanish Steps

Base of The Spanish Steps

     Next…The Trevi Fountain…of Course

Fontana Di Trevi

 

          Legend says that if you throw a coin in the fountain you’re ensured a return.  Alas, I’m too cheap to throw money away so I may or may not return.  Given the chance, though, I’d go back in a heartbeat.

The Roman Colliseum

       We saw the Colliseum from all sides but were not able to take a tour.  Another time, I hope.  Its tough to do the Vatican, the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and tour the Colliseum all on the same day.  By now, I’d become so cool on the back of the scooter, I was riding with no hands and taking pictures.

     The next day we were travelling home, and didn’t know what we were going to face with Michael’s injury, I’d find myself just sitting in a cafe, staring off into space, not living in the moment at all.  Then I’d come back to reality, try to enjoy the scenery and move on.  There was no point in sitting in the hotel room fretting, so we just kept going.  Someone told us the fountain was beautiful at night, so we took the metro back to see it, have a late supper and prepare for our return trip.

Trevi at Night

They were right.  It was beautiful, romantic and picture perfect.

About Sue Thomson

I am the wife to an amazing Man, a home school Mom of 9 children. I am a business woman who believes in 'never give up'. I appreciate accomplishment. I love beauty, and most of all I am grateful to God for my Life. Words are tools, created to love and edify. When your conversation is full of encouragement, it's like giving someone a gift and compliments are like the 'Ribbon on Top' of that gift. I will share some of my life with you and hope to add value to your life.
This entry was posted in Main Menu, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Roma..Cont’d…

  1. Ruth says:

    Cool! I didn’t know you were blogging. This is fun, reading about your adventures. 🙂

  2. Carlyn Thomson says:

    Love reading about everything you got to do over there! So jealous! beautiful pictures.

Leave a Reply

