Thanksgiving…

Thanksgiving is such a wonderful holiday.  It’s very healing and satisfying to be thankful and its even better when you can list all the things you’re thankful for.

Most of My Family

       These are some of the things I’m thankful for,…my family.  The only reason I say some is that some are missing in this particular photo.  This picture was taken on a hot August day and we’re missing 3 people in the family.  Poor Sarah had to come for a quick weekend celebration without her husband and 2 sweet little girls.  I think Thanksgiving is a time when you feel close to your family more than a lot of other times in the year.  I’d love to be able to see everyone, but this year at Thanksgiving that is just not to be.  Thanks to a family display business, called Dynamic Displays who make Fabulous Inflatables for parades all around the world, most of my kids will be gone during the Thanksgiving season. Sigh…they love it.  While I’m home making turkey dinner, we’re running out of family to come home to enjoy it.

Davey and 'Britney

      Davey has already started the parade season off in Chicago and will probably be doing more parades this year.  He’s done hundreds over the years ever since he was a little boy and learned from his Grandpa.  He’ll be spending Thanksgiving with friends and we will miss him very much.

Bethany and Paul

     Paul and Bethany get to spend the actual Thanksgiving day with Paul’s family, but then they’re soon off to do parades in Santiago, Chile.  Way Cool.  I’ll miss them this year.

Sarah's Family

     Sarah did her fair share of parades when she was a teenager.  Especially the dreaded, freezing Chicago parade! This year she’s expecting little baby Christopher soon and got to go out for dinner instead of cooking.

Josh & Carlyn

     Josh and Carlyn are booked this year doing the Houston and Austin parades and then off to Santiago, Chile for the parade there.  We miss them and can’t wait to have them living closer to us.

Abby

     Abby has come home from Europe in time to actually have Thanksgiving dinner with us.  It was such a treat to have her home for the first time in years.  She was supposed to do the freezing Chicago parade but that got rearranged, much to my delight.  She’ll be off soon enough to do parades in Hollywood and then Santiago, Chile with the group.  Parades are everywhere around the world and my kids enjoy working a lot of them.

Michael

     Michael has recovered enough from his accident to actually be able to do some work in the parades.  He’ll at least do the Houston parade and then get to spend time with his brothers and sister-in-law for a few days.  Lucky guy.

Isaac, Joel and Caleb

     Until Abby got to stay home, these are my last 3 guys that I was planning on having eat my huge feast that I was cooking. Joel is the oldest in the picture, next is Isaac and then Caleb.  We really had a perfect dinner and I appreciated all the help from Abby and the boys.  We sat around talking about everything we were thankful for and making silly jokes.  But later on, what we talked about was the fact that we are thankful and grateful in our hearts, not just to thin air, but actually to God who has blessed us with every good thing.

David

     When it’s all said and done, this is the man I love.  This is the man I’m grateful to God to have as my husband, and this is the Thanksgiving Day when I’m remembering to say it.

About Sue Thomson

I am the wife to an amazing Man, a home school Mom of 9 children. I am a business woman who believes in 'never give up'. I appreciate accomplishment. I love beauty, and most of all I am grateful to God for my Life. Words are tools, created to love and edify. When your conversation is full of encouragement, it's like giving someone a gift and compliments are like the 'Ribbon on Top' of that gift. I will share some of my life with you and hope to add value to your life.
This entry was posted in Lots of Kids, Main Menu. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanksgiving…

  1. Lois says:

    I love this, Sue! Great pictures…lovely family! ♥

  2. bet365 says:

    How are you I was lucky to find your blog in yahoo
    your subject is outstanding.
    I’ve learned much in your Topic. Thank you very much
    btw the theme of your website is really fabulous

Leave a Reply

