Scrooge On Valentines?

We’ve been to see the live play – A Christmas Carol several times.

The theater company does an excellent job and they always manage to choose a wonderful actor to play Ebenezer Scrooge and he carries the whole story.  I find myself whisked away in my imagination, envisioning being alone and cranky and having several ghosts visit me in the night.  Its scary and exciting to watch the process as Ebenezer, and the audience start to realize that the series of ghosts that show up, one after the other, all have the same goal;… to teach mean old Ebenezer that there’s more to Christmas than ‘Ba Humbug!’

The one ghost takes Ebenezer Scrooge to a scene of a family preparing dinner and waiting for their father to come home from work.  The mother is Belle, Scrooge’s former fiance, who couldn’t stand his selfishness and greed over money any longer, and she married another man and had several beautiful children.  The scene was heartbreaking for Scrooge, realizing that his greed had cost him a quality of life with a family that he’d never realize.

It was the most darling scene.  The loving, sweet mother was instructing all of her beautiful children how to set out and prepare a warm, filling dinner for Daddy so that when he got home, the family would enjoy a wonderful Christmas dinner together.  When the children heard Daddy coming in the door, one hid under the table, laughing his head off and the rest rushed into their Daddy’s arms, rejoicing in his arrival so that the festivities could begin.  There was lots of hilarity as the father pretended to look for the ‘lost’ child and when he found him, they all gathered around as he took his wife into his arms and greeted her lovingly as if they’d been apart for days and days.

As I was sitting, watching the scene unfold, I started to have feelings of longing and envy for such warmth and beauty.  I thought to myself, “How lucky that mother is to have so many children, a warm lovely home and a handsome loving husband”.  And then, it was like a voice speaking to me in my head, as if God was gently nudging me out of my absorption with the scene playing out in front of me…”You…Have…That!” And I thought to myself, “I do, I have that!”  It was a quiet voice that reverberated loudly throughout my whole being and all I could feel was a surge of gratitude and contentment with my world.

After the play, we went to dinner and David asked me how I liked it.  I start to tell him about the scene and my thoughts, and it just brought tears to my eyes and I told him all that I was remembering about that one beautiful moment in the play.

Even though we saw the play for our anniversary before Christmas, what could be more Valentines romantic than to have a house full of children and still have the love and the beauty that young couples dream about before they are even married and having babies and starting out on their life’s journey.

About Sue Thomson

I am the wife to an amazing Man, a home school Mom of 9 children. I am a business woman who believes in 'never give up'. I appreciate accomplishment. I love beauty, and most of all I am grateful to God for my Life. Words are tools, created to love and edify. When your conversation is full of encouragement, it's like giving someone a gift and compliments are like the 'Ribbon on Top' of that gift. I will share some of my life with you and hope to add value to your life.
This entry was posted in Lots of Kids, Main Menu and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Scrooge On Valentines?

Leave a Reply

