10 Things I Love About Babies

Sometimes I can be so serious and sometimes, although I’d never admit it, I am so silly.

1. “Snuggle Buggle”.  My very favorite thing to do is to cuddle and rock my baby.  But instead of saying cuddle, I started saying snuggle.  And possibly due to the influence of Dr. Seuss, I just started saying snuggle buggle and even worse than that, I use the phrase as an action verb.  Do you want to “….”?! You know what I’m saying.

2.  I love singing Baby Songs with the baby on my lap; of course I have a huge repertoire of songs.  We sit face to face so we can do all the actions together. The youngest baby, who can barely sit up, gets to start with Patty Cake.  Then we grow into Running Over, Deep and Wide, Itsy bitsy spider, Jesus Loves Me, and then our version of Jesus loves my little children which goes…Jesus loves my little children, and Mommy and Daddy too, Davey, Bethany, Sarah, Josh, Abigail and Michael and Joel and my little Isaac and my Caleb too.  If you know the tune, I dare you to sing it with all those names.  I started out singing it this way when we only had 5 kids, up to Abigail, and I managed to add a name and change the rhythm enough to accommodate all 9 of them.

3.  Bath-time.  How fun is that, even if you have to keep your underwear on because 2 of you are girls and 1 is a boy, everyone is having a good time.

4.  Fever – I know, sounds bad… Don’t judge me. My favorite is not the part where they’re sick, its when the baby is really sick with fever, which hopefully doesn’t happen too often, they want their mommy and they need me to somehow make them comfortable and secure when they’re not feeling well, and I get to hold them and rock them for hours till they’re all better.

5.  Their smell, baby’s breath, yup, say no more, there’s nothing sweeter.

 

6.  The little cooing sounds they make when they first learn to use their voice.  When babies are about 2 to 3 weeks old, they suddenly discover that they can make cute little noises and sounds with their voice that is completely different from crying.  I figured out that if I make similar sounds back and do these happy goofy faces, I can get them to keep making those sweet little sounds. Totally worth it.

7.  The wrap.  Some people don’t like the wrap but I have found that when a baby is fussing and flailing, if you swaddle them and then, don’t laugh, snuggle buggle, they become calm, secure and usually fall asleep.  Everybody’s happy.

8.  Evolution, or should I say the de-evolution of words. Intelligent and sensible adults named the item that a baby can suck on, a Pacifier.  Some grownups call it a soother.  My Dad, smart man that he is, named this item a plug.  Efficient, to the point and a very self-explanatory use of language, because that’s often what the item does, plugs.

 Instead of being grownup and sophisticated, we changed the word over time and it became a pluggy; silly.

But then with the last baby, our silliness de-evolved the word even more into “puggy”.  Now there’s no way any thinking adult would know what we’re talking about.  We make up all kinds of silly things. I can say with a straight face to anyone in my family..”He got an owie  and needs his puggie and now we’re going to snuggle buggle,” and they will understand the whole situation.

9.  Looking at their beautiful faces when they’re sound asleep.  This makes me very happy.

10.  First day of life.  How precious and helpless and beautiful.

And first day home from the hospital.  Everything is new and fresh and beautiful and exciting.  You’ve got to try it.

Tender, sweet and silly moments.  Makes the world go round.

About Sue Thomson

I am the wife to an amazing Man, a home school Mom of 9 children. I am a business woman who believes in 'never give up'. I appreciate accomplishment. I love beauty, and most of all I am grateful to God for my Life. Words are tools, created to love and edify. When your conversation is full of encouragement, it's like giving someone a gift and compliments are like the 'Ribbon on Top' of that gift. I will share some of my life with you and hope to add value to your life.
This entry was posted in Lots of Kids, Main Menu and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 10 Things I Love About Babies

  1. Jess says:

    I just read this, and as a mom of, well, ALMOST 5, I just have to comment about the pacifier thing. My father, also a down to earth, smart man, also dubbed this a plug. Thats what my 1st child, my only daughter, called it. Then along came the twins, one of which used one, and renamed it is “pluggy”. Now, with my 4th child, it has turned into, yup, you guessed it, a “puggy”. lol. Just wanted you to know you are not the only word-changers out there!!!

Leave a Reply

