Knitting is Chic!

I really do knit!  I learned to knit from my Grandmother when I was a little girl, and then my Mom helped me along.  I didn’t knit very much or very often, but every once in a while, I’d get the urge to try a little project, and it would keep up my skills.

My Mom and her friend Sheila starting encouraging ladies to knit hats for newborns at the hospital as a charitable gift.  I started making some when I was pregnant for Caleb.  In all of my babies, I’d never seen a hand-made knitted hat at the hospital.  The hospitals I went to, gave those ugly stretch caps for the little newborns.  About a month before Caleb was born, there was a sweet article in Victoria Magazine about a lady keeping her little newborn’s cap ever since he was born because it was a keepsake and a dear little memory. That really made me want to knit the little caps.  After I got good at the newborn caps, I decided to venture out on some more complicated projects.

It was so sweet of Sarah to post a picture my recent projects on Facebook.  I just had to knit up something for Baby Christopher.  Afterall, I’d knitted up a storm for Emma and Abby.  I just didn’t take pictures of my accomplishments.  I didn’t know it’d be cool and trendy.  I kind of thought it’d seem old-fashioned.

Now, recently, knitting is super popular and really in.  Suddenly, what I do is hip!  How cool is that?

I took a couple of pictures of the sailboat blanket as I was making it, and its so cute to see Baby Christopher on the completed blanket.

I just got it finished in time for his arrival into this world.

Here’s his dear little smiling face, all wrapped up snuggle buggle in the blanket.

In our life, we run around and do fun, crazy things all the time.  We have a wonderful exciting life, but sometimes, I just enjoy a little quiet, creative outlet.  And when I can see the results of my labor, it’s very satisfying.

About Sue Thomson

I am the wife to an amazing Man, a home school Mom of 9 children. I am a business woman who believes in 'never give up'. I appreciate accomplishment. I love beauty, and most of all I am grateful to God for my Life. Words are tools, created to love and edify. When your conversation is full of encouragement, it's like giving someone a gift and compliments are like the 'Ribbon on Top' of that gift. I will share some of my life with you and hope to add value to your life.
This entry was posted in Fun Things I do, Main Menu and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

